I Love Lamp

I Love Lamp

Also today I got the relay board I needed to finish a super-quick mashup of hardware and software I did for a bit of a laugh.

Details:

Pi hooked up to a breadboard via PiCobbler and a then hooked up to a relay board capable of handling mains power.

On the Pi I bashed together some Python for getting data from the Twitter API, whenever the phrase “I love lamp” is detected in either my home feed, direct message or mentions the relay board is triggered into action and my desk lamp turns on

On the breadboard I’ve also got a little momentary micro switch which resets the system (i.e. light off), waiting for any new tweets.

Yes this is pointless.
Yes I love it.
Yes it will be going up on GitHub soon.

I love lamp.

Update: Code here https://github.com/craigfortune/ILoveTwitterLamp (and yes this is still active on my twitter account, @craigfortune if you want to make me jump out of my skin and giggle at the same time…)

Leave a Reply

